from DSO-InsideTheFalcon Website






This is our galaxy, the "Milky Way", viewed from above.




The Milky Way is a large spiral galaxy containing roughly 100 billion stars disposed in the form of a disk, with several spiral arms coiling around a central bulge.

The diameter of the disk is about 100,000 light years and the Sun is located about 30,000 light years from the Milky Way’s nucleus on the Orion arm, at the center of the little red grid.

This grid delimits a square area of about 1,500x1,500 light years, magnified in the map below.





This above is the galactic environment within 1500 light years from Sol, rich of gas clouds.

Note the "Dumbbell nebula" on the top left, Polaris on the bottom left, the Pleiades and Betelgeuse below the central red square grid, Rigel (Beta Orionis) on the bottom right, Hadar (Beta Centauri) on the top right, Antares above the central red grid.

The red grid is a square area of about 400x400 light years, magnified in the map below, with our Sun at the center.





This above image represents the solar neighborhood.

Many stars on this map are present also in the simulated galaxy of Frontier.

Our solar system is located in an unusual region of space called the "Local Bubble" because the ISM (InterStellar Medium) in this area is much less dense than the ISM surrounding it.

Scientists believe that this bubble may have been created by a supernova explosion.


The key to the maps above.
















Earth's Location in the Universe

Local Group of Galaxies
A diagram of our location in the observable Universe





Artist's conception of the spiral structure of the Milky Way

with two major stellar arms and a bar.





Milky Way - Spiral Arms



Each spiral arm describes a logarithmic spiral (as do the arms of all spiral galaxies) with a pitch of approximately 12 degrees. Until recently, there were believed to be four major spiral arms which all start

near the galaxy's center.

These are named as follows, according to the image above.






3-kpc and Perseus Arm


Norma and Outer arm (Along with a newly discovered extension)


Scutum–Centaurus Arm


Carina–Sagittarius Arm

There are at least two smaller arms or spurs, including:


Orion–Cygnus Arm (which contains the Sun and Solar System)